Welcome to the PTR

I’m really an impatient person. When I first heard that PTR copies were available, I camped my account management page until I was able to squeeze in a copy. Then I spent hours downloading the PTR client and patching it so I could log in. Then I logged in and got disconnected fifteen times in a row. Finally I was able to stagger over to a hunter trainer long enough to dual-spec into something I’ve been wanting to try for a very, very long time.

Of course, that was a while ago. The PTR crashed and I promptly forgot about things until this evening. With a new version of the PTR up, I wanted to push a little further with my experimentation. Login went smoothly and I found myself grinning at my copied hunter at the trainer.

Out of curiosity I cast the new stabling ability, ‘Call Stabled Pet’. Sure enough, a stable screen popped up in front of me, and I happily traded out Mijikai (devilsaur) for Murinandai (rhino). The trade finished and I had my happy rhino next to me. Of course, Muri needed his talents redone, so I opened up the talent pane to do so.

This is when I discovered he only had one talent point. Which the interface refused to let me spend.

Well, that was no good. I quickly brainstormed that perhaps I could fix things by swapping him into the stable the normal way and swapping him back out. I ran around the corner and did so…only to notice, with horror gnawing at the pit of my stomach, that Mijikai was missing. I had four pets and an empty stable slot.

A small voice in the back of my head started yelling that I should have known about this. I told it to shut up, and then got back to thinking of a way to fix it.

Thankfully, my first and favorite pet was still in the stable, so I swapped Muri out for Mahrou (wolf). Mahrou loaded and I breathed a sigh of relief as I went to check his talent pane. He was missing all of his talent points.

I stared at the screen. Now what?

On a lark, I put Mahrou carefully back in the stable, into the empty slot that Mijikai had once occupied. Then, before my eyes, Mijikai reappeared! Her name and icon gracefully filled the “Current Pet” slot, and I waited for her to spawn next to me.

Of course, this was not to be. I tried calling her, in case she had somehow despawned, but received a stark red message which informed me that I did not currently have a pet. Forlornly, I stared at my stable pane, wondering if I’d see her on the PTR ever again, and a system message popped up in chat.

sammich
I didn’t get a sandwich, but I did report the bug and log off. There isn’t much a hunter can test on the PTR if she doesn’t have a pet. ;_;

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

