3.1 Macro Woe

When 3.1 hit last week, I spent quite a while updating all my addons. I expected them to break – that’s the nature of the beast, after all. So once everything was in order and I was ready to go, I was invited to go poke at Ulduar.

Where I promptly discovered my Steady Shot macro was not functioning. At all.

Ulduar was quickly abandoned due to trash kicking our butts, and I flew to some nearby mobs to fiddle with my macro. There were so many abilities stuffed into it that it didn’t make sense that none of them seemed to be working. Something was amiss.

#showtooltip
/cast !Auto Shot
/cast Kill Command
/cast Kill Shot
/cast Steady Shot
/script UIErrorsFrame:Clear()

This macro had always been good at doing the following:

1. Toggle on Auto Shot, without turning it off.
2. Casting Kill Command whenever it was ready, since I forget stuff like that.
3. Cast Kill Shot every time it could be cast, thus maximizing its use.
4. Cast Steady Shot every time it was available.
5. Keep the screen clear of errors.

Unfortunately, all it’s good for now is starting Auto Shot and triggering Kill Command. However, I discovered that removing the Kill Shot line fixed the rest of the macro, allowing Steady Shot to fire.

A fellow hunter in my guild, upon hearing my lamentations for the dead macro, showed me the one she used, swearing up and down that it worked fine. It was one I had seen before, had tried, and had quickly discarded.

#showtooltip
/cast !Auto Shot
/cast Kill Shot
/castrandom Steady Shot, Arcane Shot
/script UIErrorsFrame:Clear()

When I tried this macro, months ago, I ran into the issue of not being able to control my shots. If the macro randomly chose Arcane Shot while Arcane was on cooldown, then Steady didn’t fire, and I’d wasted a precious second or two of dps time. I found that I was far happier controlling my shot rotation manually between SS and AS, than leaving it up to the whim of the random number generator.

Research on the intarwebs finally revealed to me the problem. As of 3.1, Kill Shot had been put on the Global Cooldown. Since abilities on the GCD preclude any other abilities on the GCD from being fired, the attempt at firing Kill Shot would halt the casting of both Arcane and Steady Shot. Blizzard had looked at our macros and decided we were getting off too easy, so they fixed it.

What’s odd is that this doesn’t explain how in the world my guildmate was making her macro work. It should have stopped dead in its tracks, as mine did, when it ran into Kill Shot. It shouldn’t have been working at all.

Still, I stand firm when it comes to /castrandom. I’d much rather choose my order by hand, which lets me adapt to situations on the fly and maximize my dps without getting bored during fights. That goes doubly so now that I have to weave Kill Shot in by hand.

So my Steady Shot macro now looks like this:

#showtooltip
/cast !Auto Shot
/cast Kill Command
/cast Steady Shot
/script UIErrorsFrame:Clear()

And my ‘pewpew’ button on LunarSphere looks something like this:

Left Click – Arcane Shot (displays 6s cooldown on button after use)
Right Click – Steady Shot macro (used every 1.5s until Arcane is up)
Middle Click – Kill Shot

Combined with the newly-downloaded DoTimer mod, I now never miss a potential Kill Shot. This allows me to maximize my dps, adjust on the fly, and pewpew to my heart’s content!

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

