I named her ‘Highwind’.

When I first -really- started raiding with a guild, it was Karazhan. I loved the instance and thought it was wonderful in so many ways…except for the ballroom. Because the ballroom, filled with dozens of ghosts all dancing to the music, made my frames-per-second plummet to 3.

If you’ve never raided at 3fps, try it sometime. It will make you appreciate expensive computer parts.

After a month of two of that, I upgraded my computer by adding a video card, and suddenly the game was beautiful. Things ran smoothly and I could see so much more in the game. It was like my eyes had just been opened and I was seeing everything for the first time.

Then Lich King arrived.

At first I didn’t notice too much because I was leveling. But as time wore on, I saw my frames drop bit by bit…until I was running Ulduar and barely able to dodge the fire tornadoes because my fps was a solid 7. Still more months passed and despite dropping my graphics settings, I was doing fights in Ulduar at a dismal 3fps once again.

It was at about this point that I started drifting away from WoW, and my raiding was reduced significantly, to the point that I only vaguely remembered that I had graphics issues. Then, when I came back for Brewfest, I found my fps tanking while I fought Coren-freaking-Direbrew, and enough was enough.

Three days later my shiny new parts arrived, with just enough time for me to put them together and go to bed. Two days later (because I was busy on Saturday), I logged in and went to give Direbrew another shot.

Then I gave him a few more shots. Because my fps was a solid 23 the entire fight.

I’m sure the more elite of you are scoffing at the number. Yes, it’s not 60, or even 30. But you know what? It’s not 7. In fact, it’s more than three times seven and quite honestly? That’s good enough for me.

What I upgraded:
Single Core 2.0 GHz CPU    ->    Quad-Core 2.8 GHz CPU
1.5 GB DDR RAM    ->    3.25 DDR2 RAM
Geforce 7600 Video Card    ->    Geforce 8400 Video Card
80 GB HDD    ->    320 GB HDD
Crappy Case From Hell    ->    Awesome Case of Awesomeness

It may not have really been much, but it’s awesome nonetheless. 😀

Tags:

Leave a Reply

